• Home
  • Downloads
  • Return to Portal
  • Ranger Districts

    There are six ranger districts on the Nez Perce-Clearwater Forests. Check out the following overviews for more information and how to contact each district.

    Palouse Ranger District

    1700 Highway 6

    Potlatch, ID 83855

    (208) 875-1131

    Located on the outskirts of Potlatch, the Palouse Ranger District is easily accessible via several state highways. This paved highway system makes the district - and its multitude of recreation offerings, including hiking, camping, and snow sports - easily accessible. With its large local population and easy access, the Palouse District serves as a "public playground."

    North Fork Ranger District

    12740 Highway 12

    Orofino, ID 83544

    (208) 476-4541

    The North Fork Ranger District, headquartered in Orofino, covers 777,000 pristine acres, almost entirely National Forest System lands. The district supports a vast array of recreational opportunities on its steep, heavily timbered landscape. Hiking is popular on the 800 mile-long trail system on the district, and people come from across the country to fish in the district's rivers and streams.

    Lochsa/Powell Ranger District

    Lochsa Ranger Station

    502 Lowry Road

    Kooskia, ID 83539

    (208) 926-4274

    Powell Ranger Station/Lolo Pass Visitor Center

    21200 Highway 12

    Lolo, MT 59847

    (208) 942-3113

    The Lochsa Ranger District, headquartered in Kooskia, covers nearly 400,000 acres and has diverse landscapes rich in history and archaeology. The Nimiipuu Trail, Lewis and Clark Trail, and Lolo Motorway cross through the district. The district also boasts abundant recreation opportunities including hiking, wildlife viewing, and fishing. The Powell Ranger District headquarters are located near the Idaho-Montana state line on Highway 12. More than 500 miles of trails, abundant campsites, and plentiful fishing are just some of the recreation opportunities on the district. Lolo Pass Visitor Center, located on the state line, is a popular interpretive stop, rest area, and traveler information center for guests.

    Moose Creek Ranger District

    831 Selway Road

    Kooskia, ID 83539

    (208) 926-4258

    The Moose Creek Ranger District, headquartered at Fenn Ranger Station, contains approximately 870,000 acres within the Selway River sub-basin. The area is rich in Forest Service history and tradition, containing many historic buildings and embracing traditional skills such as horse packing. The primary contribution from the district to the local economy is through dispersed and developed recreation. Local communities served include the river communities of Lowell and Syringa.

    Salmon River Ranger District

    304 Slate Creek Road

    White Bird, ID 83554

    (208) 839-2211

    The Salmon River Ranger District, located at the Slate Creek Ranger Station along the Salmon River, covers approximately 536,000 acres of National Forest System land, not including the Hells Canyon portion. The district office is located approximately 18 miles north of Riggins and approximately 10 miles south of White Bird. The district manages a heavy recreation workload primarily associated with Salmon River uses such as whitewater rafting and jet boating - Riggins is known as the "Whitewater Capitol of the World."

    Red River Ranger District

    300 American River Road

    Elk City, ID 83525

    (208) 842-2245

    Originally established in 1915 as the first Ranger District of the Nez Perce National Forest, Red River Ranger District now covers roughly 800,000 acres of the Nez Perce-Clearwater National Forests. Four small communities interact with and are within the boundaries of the district - Elk City, Red River, Dixie, and Orogrande. Outstanding recreational opportunities abound on the district year-'round.